Walias coach names 25-man squad for AFCON qualifier

The newly-assigned Ethiopian National Team coach, Gebremedhin Haile, has named 25 players for the African Cup of Nations qualifier game against Lesotho.

After Yohannes Sahle was sacked from his position, Gebremedhin, manager of the Ethiopian Premier League side Defense FC, has been named as interim coach and has commenced training for the remaining two AFCON qualifier matches against Lesotho and Seychelles.

Twenty-three players have been selected from the Ethiopian Premier League, while forward Getaneh Kebede of Pretoria University and Egyptian side Petrojet’s midfielder Shemelis Bekele were selected from players based abroad. Walid Atta, center back of the Swedish club, Östersunds FK, is not included in the squad.

Elsewhere, the Saint George midfielder Bahilu Assefa was excluded due to injury and was replaced by Dedebit FC’s Shemekit Gugsa.

From Ethiopia Coffee, left back Ahmed Reshid received a debut call alongside Hawasa City’s Desta Yohannes. The Walias will travel to Lesotho next Wednesday for the following Saturday’s match. After this match, the Walias will face the last qualifying match against Seychelles in September at the Addis Ababa Stadium.

The Walias are placed second in Group J with five points, one win and two draws trailing Algeria, which is leading the group with 10 points. Seychelles follows Ethiopia with four and Lesotho is last with three points.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Jemal Tassew (Defense), Abel Mamo (Mugher Cement), Samson Assefa (Dire Dawa City)

Defenders: Addisu Tesfaye (Defense), Asecahlew Tamene (Saint George), Ephrem Wendesen, Abdulkerim Mohammed, Ahmed Reshid (Ethiopia Coffee), Desta Yohannis (Hawassa City), Seyoum Tesfaye (Dedebit), Anteneh Tesfaye (Sidama Coffee), Yared Bayeh (Dashen Beer)

Midfielders: Shemelis Bekele (Petrojet/Egypt), Ephrem Ashamo (Commercial Bank of Ethiopia), Mulualem Tilahun (Sidama Coffee), Asrat Megressa (Dashen Beer), Tadele Mengesha (ArbaMinch City),  Menetesenot Adane (Saint George), Gatoch Panom, Elias Mamo (Ethiopia Coffee), and Shemekit Gugesa (Dedebit).

Forwards: Tafesse Tesfaye (Adama City), Getaneh Kebede (University of Pretoria/South Africa), Salahdin Seid (Saint George), Dawit Fikadu (Dedebit)